Prairie, White, Woodruff Counties Added for FEMA-SBA Assistance

Jul 6th, 2017 | By | Category: Top Story

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. – FEMA disaster assistance to individuals impacted in the severe storms between April 26 and May 19 has been extended to three more Arkansas counties: Prairie, White and Woodruff. The June 15 Major Disaster Declaration originally designated 13 counties—Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Faulkner, Fulton, Jackson, Lawrence, Pulaski, Randolph, Saline, Washington and Yell— for assistance under FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program. Prairie, White and Woodruff were added after a review of ongoing damage assessments by the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and FEMA. Survivors should always contact their insurance company as well as register with FEMA for assistance. Use one of the following methods to apply: • Call the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. Multilingual operators are available. Persons who are deaf, hard of hearing or have a speech disability and use a TTY may call 800-462-7585. If you use 711 or VRS (Video Relay Service) or require accommodations while visiting a center, call 800-621-3362. The toll-free numbers are open daily from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m.; • Online at (also in Spanish); • Download the FEMA mobile app (also in Spanish) at Google Play or the Apple App Store; • Help is available in most languages, and information on the registration process is available in ASL at; • Register with FEMA at a Disaster Recovery Center. Find the nearest center by going online to Be ready to provide Social Security number, address of the damaged primary residence, description of damage, insurance policy information, current contact information including an address to receive mail, and bank account and routing numbers if direct deposit is desired. Disaster assistance for qualified applicants may include: 1. Grants for rental assistance or temporary housing; 2. Grants for home repairs not covered by insurance; 3. Grants for serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance—such as medical, dental, funeral, personal property, vehicles and moving and storage; and 4. Low-interest disaster loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration. Loans may be available to businesses of all sizes, private nonprofit organizations, and homeowners and renters for losses not fully compensated by insurance or other recoveries and do not duplicate benefits of other agencies or organizations. FEMA disaster assistance is for specific purposes centered on getting a disaster survivor into a functioning home that is safe for occupancy and secure. FEMA grants do not cover all damage, especially to insured property, but residents with insurance are encouraged to apply anyway. Disaster survivors with communication-related disabilities—those who are deaf or hard of hearing, blind or have low vision and those with speech disabilities—may request reasonable accommodation(s) to aid in communication. Accommodations can be requested by calling the FEMA Helpline at 800-621-3362. A FEMA-contracted housing inspector may contact the applicant to schedule an appointment to visit the home depending on the type and source of storm-related damages. Inspectors have photo ID and carry the applicant’s FEMA registration number. Inspectors are not authorized to approve applications, ask for bank account information, or charge for inspections. FEMA does not endorse any inspection or contract services. They will ask for proof of ownership (homeowners) or occupancy (renters, at time of disaster damage). For information about SBA’s disaster assistance, call 800-659-2955, email, or visit SBA’s website at Deaf and hard-of-hearing individuals may call 800-877-8339. For updates on the Arkansas response and recovery, follow the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management (@AR_Emergencies) on Twitter and Facebook and Additional information is available at