Badger Basketball Coaches Garner Post Season Awards

May 23rd, 2013 | By admin | Category: Sports

By C. Michael Long

Staff Sports Photojournalist

Both Badger basketball coaches were awarded post-season awards at the end of this school year by the AAA.

Coach Richey was awarded the outstanding coach in the 5A East Conference this year for his senior girls basketball team. The Beebe Lady Badgers finished with a 13-1 Conference record and a 23-7 overall record. The Lady Badgers finished in a tie with Paragould for the regular season Conference Championship.

Coach Marshall was also awarded the outstanding coach in the 5A East Conference this year for his senior boys basketball team. The Badgers finished with a 12-2 Conference record and a 21-7 overall record. The Badgers finished in 1st place overall for the regular season Conference Championship.

In addition to finishing 1st in the Conference, Coach Marshall and his Senior laden team (who he started coaching just a mere 3 year’s ago when they were all just Sophomores) achieved an incredible feat this year, after defeating Cabot during The Beebe Holiday Tournament in December.

In just the short amount of time Coach Marshall and his staff have been here (3 seasons) they achieved something that has never been accomplished at Beebe High, 50 wins in just 3 seasons! A feat that is nothing short of a miracle, with the leadership of hard nosed – never say quit Seniors, Austin Burroughs, Jake Schlenker, Jared Gowen, Colton Taylor, A.J. Christianson and Than Kersey the Badgers were able to achieve this remarkable feat. They were able to carry that momentum into the 2nd round of the State Championship Tournament – until they met a Harrison Goblin team that would not go away and got beat in an overtime thriller on a last second shot.

Coach Marshall and Coach Richey should both be commended on bringing the basketball program at Beebe Senior High School to it’s highest point yet and the building process is still in full gear, with basketball camps scheduled all Summer long in anticipation of tip off for the 2013-2014 season! Congratulations coaches and good luck in the future!!