Beebe AFJROTC Hosts Annual Awards Ceremony

May 9th, 2013 | By admin | Category: Education

By:  Cadet Colonel Kristina McReynolds

Beebe AFJROTC hosted their Annual Awards ceremony on April 18, 2013 at 6:30 pm at the Student Center on the campus of Arkansas State University – Beebe.  This marked the eighth year for the ceremony.  Annual Awards combines a formal military style dinner with a recognition ceremony for cadets who went above and beyond expectations throughout the year.  Cadet Stephane Benton served as the cadet-in-charge and emcee of the event.  She spent countless hours planning, coordinating and executing the event.  Over 100 achievement-related ribbons and awards were presented to over 30 cadets.  The event was attended by cadets, family, friends, guest presenters and school administrators.   Representatives from organizations such as the Air force Association, Order of the Daedalians, Military Order of World Wars, the American Legion, Veterans of Foreign Wars, the Military Order of the Purple Heart, Daughters of the American Revolution and Sons of Confederate Veterans.  Additionally, four cadets received the Outstanding Cadet award for excellence, academics and leadership.  Cadet Rose Thomas was the outstanding first-year cadet.  Ethan Cranford was the outstanding second-year cadet.  Caleb Gentry garnered the award for the third-year cadets and Madison Finley was honored as the outstanding fourth-year cadet.  Along with these distinct honors, Colonel Brian S. Robinson, the Wing Commander of Little Rock Air Force Base, attended the Annual Awards ceremony and gave a presentation on leadership to the cadets and family present.  At the end of the ceremony, Mr Scott Jennings, the high school principal, announced the new Group and Deputy Group Commanders for the 2013-2014 school year.  Cadet Lt Col Anna Spikes and Cadet Major Caleb Gentry will lead a unit of over 110 students next year as they seek to build citizens of character dedicated to serving our nation and community.