ASU - Jonesboro Department of Music to Present ASU Jazz Bands

Feb 23rd, 2012 | By admin | Category: Entertainment

The Department of Music at Arkansas State University will present the ASU Jazz Bands in concert on Tuesday, Feb. 28, at 7:30 p.m. in Riceland Hall, Fowler Center. The ASU Jazz Bands are directed by Dr. Ron Horton. This concert is free, and the public is invited.

This concert will feature guest artist and bassist extraordinaire Dwayne Dolphin. Dolphin and the ASU band will perform a number of works from the catalogue of the Charles Mingus big band repertoire, as well as some small combo pieces.

Dolphin’s thirty year career began when he became a member of a band led by Wynton Marsalis. Dolphin would go on to perform with Stanley Turrentine, Fred Wesley, Hank Jones, Geri Allen, and Abbey Lincoln, and he even appeared on Nancy Wilson’s award-winning album R.S.V.P. Dolphin is a world traveler who is in great demand in Europe as the bassist for Fred Wesley’s band, and he also plays a pivotal role as a performer and musical mentor in the flourishing jazz scene of Pittsburg, Penn.

Members of the ASU Jazz Band are Clinton Curtis of Trumann, Bobby Coyle of Piggott, Joseph Coffee of Benton, Mo., Cody Ballard of Jonesboro, Zach Simmons of North Little Rock, Dustin Cole of Paragould, Devondre Hince of Jacksonville, Andrew Hankenwerth of Jonesboro, Norma Lopez of Batesville, Joseph Curtis of Trumann, T.J. Irvin of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Justin Holt of Trumann, Josh Mobley of Paragould, Aaron Decker of Jonesboro, Matt Bounds of Poplar Bluff, Mo., Terrell Montgomery of Fort Smith, Addison Boling of Jonesboro, Garrett Tyler of Jonesboro, and Alex Ditto of Hoxie.

For more information about the concert or ASU music, contact the music office at (870) 972-2094.